If you have been arrested for DUI in Las Vegas, it is important to understand the different potential punishments that could be imposed if you are convicted. Each time you are arrested for DUI within a seven year period, it is a different crime with different mandatory minimums. After seven years of no additional arrests, your records can be sealed.
If you have been arrested for suspicion of DUI and it is the third time you have been arrested for that charge within a seven year time frame, it is known as a “DUI Third.” This means that it is treated as the third time that you have been arrested for this crime (if it is outside of a seven year period, you can be arrested on a “DUI First” charge multiple times.)
Drunk driving in Las Vegas is illegal under Nevada law 484C.110. Dui First and DUI Second are both considered misdemeanors, but a DUI Third is considered a Class B Felony. If you are convicted of a DUI Third, you can expect the following.
Keep in mid that these sentences are on standard DUI Third arrests. There are special enhanced punishments for anyone who was arrested with children under 15 in the car, as well as those who caused injury, property damage or death to another person. Anyone caught drunk driving after causing injury or death will face 2 – 20 years in prison and fines between 2 and 5 thousand dollars. There are also limitation on plea bargains, so there is a good chance you will not be able to reduce these punishments if convicted. Nevada Vehicular homicide is when a person who has three previous DUI convictions causes the death of another through drunk driving. This is a very serious Class A felony, and it carries a twenty-five years in prison or a life sentence, with the possibility of parole after 10 years. In many of these DUI convictions, the person will be forced to wear a SCRAM bracelet that monitors the person’s BAC during the time of incarceration, parole or probation.
Call us before you say a word. 702-780-6718